Rhode Island Archival and Manuscript Collections Online

Rudolph Fisher papers

Brown University Archives

Box A
Brown University
Providence, RI 02912
Tel: 401-863-2146


This collection is arranged into the following series:

  • Series 1. Writings
  • Series 2. Correspondence
  • Series 3. Publicity
  • Series 4. Personal Papers
  • Series 5. Family Papers
  • Series 6. Newsclippings

Series 1 (Writings) is comprised of twenty-five short stories, one novel and four book reviews, separated accordingly. Each genre is arranged alphabetically.

Series 2 (Correspondence, 1921-1983) contains three subseries; Personal letters to and from Rudolph Fisher, personal letters to and from the Fisher family, and letters to and from publishers. Each subseries is arranged chronologically, with undated materials at the end of each subseries.

Series 3 (Publicity) consists of materials associated with novels, plays and events relating to Rudolph Fisher. The material is arranged by title of the event or publication, and then chronologically.

Series 4 (Personal Papers) includes materials relating to Fisher's schooling, health, death and funeral arrangements, arranged chronologically.

Series 5 (Family Papers) contains three subseries; Jane Ryder Fisher Papers, Pearl Fisher Papers, and Hugh Fisher Papers. Each subseries is arranged chronologically.

Series 6 (Newsclippings) is comprised of newspapers clippings about Rudolph Fisher arranged chronologically.