Rhode Island Archival and Manuscript Collections Online

For Participating Institutions

Lyn Crost papers (Ms.2005.46)

Brown University Library

Box A
Brown University
Providence, RI 02912
Tel: 401-863-2146


This collection is arranged into the following eleven series:

  • Series 1. Correspondence
  • Series 2. Photographs
  • Series 3. Literary manuscripts
  • Series 4. Personal
  • Series 5. Journalism
  • Series 6. Subject files
  • Series 7. Research materials
  • Series 8. Printed materials
  • Series 9. Memorabilia
  • Series 10. Serials
  • Series 11. Audiovisual materials

Series 1 (Correspondence, 1942-1997) is comprised of three subseries, each arranged alphabetically by author and divided as Business, Fan mail, and Personal.

Series 2 (Photographs) contains photographs taken by Lyn Crost during World War II and those used in the pubication of Honor by fire.

Series 3 (Literary manuscripts) contains three subseries; The Bull and the Contessa, Farewell to Paradise, and Honor by fire. Each subseries are arranged by chapter, except for Honor by fire, which is arranged alphabetically.

Series 4 (Personal) contains items relating directly to the author and are arranged as the author originally filed them.

Series 5 (Journalism) contains three subseries. The subseries Lyn Crost articles and scrapbooks are arranged alphabetically. The subseries Time-Life is arranged chronologically.

Series 6 (Subject files) are arranged alphabetically.

Series 7 (Research materials) contains two subseries, General research files and Photocopied extracts. They are arranged alphabetically.

Series 8 (Printed materials) are arranged alphabetically.

Series 9 (Memorabilia) are arranged alphabetically.

Series 10 (Serials) contains two subseries; Go for broke and Puka Puka parade. The subseries are arranged chronologically.

Series 11 (Audiovisual materials) are arranged alphabetically.