RIAMCO

Rhode Island Archival and Manuscript Collections Online

Limit My Results

Institution

    -
  • 1901 - 2000
    ( 2 )
  • 1801 - 1900
    ( 12 )
  • 1701 - 1800
    ( 12 )
  • 1601 - 1700
    ( 1 )
« Previous | 1 - 10 of 27 collections | Next »

Results

Formal title:
Albert C. Greene Papers
Extent:
16 linear feet
Date range:
1804-1863
Abstract:
Albert C. Greene (1791-1863) was born in Coventry, Rhode Island to Perry (b.1749) and Elizabeth (Belcher) Greene (b. 1758). He had one sibling, a brother, William P. Greene (1784-1855). He was educated at the East Greenwich Academy until he was placed as an apprentice, at the age of 13, to George Brinkerhoff, an attorney in New York City. He was admitted to the bar in 1812 and continued his studies at the law school of Judges Reeves & Gould in Litchfield, Connecticut. He returned to Rhode Island in 1813 and set up practice in East Greenwich.
Repository:
Rhode Island Historical Society
Collection call no:
MSS 452
Formal title:
Sayles Finishing Plants (Saylesville, Philipsdale, and Valley Falls, Rhode Island and Ashleville, North Carolina) Business Records
Extent:
55 linear feet
Date range:
1906-1971
Abstract:
In the first two decades of the 20th century, there occurred a gradual consolidation of the various finishing plants owned by Frank A. Sayles. To the original bleacheries at Saylesville were joined administratively the various branches of the Glenlyon Dye and Print Works and the National Tracing Cloth Company. The first indication of this trend came in 1906, when the records start referring to the Sayles Bleacheries as Plant A - implying the existence of a larger organization of which it formed a part. In the decade that followed, the various finishing units were increasingly linked by central departments - e.g. the Central Purchasing Department, the Efficiency Department, the Rate-Fixing Department, the Superintendent's Office - that came to coordinate more and more of their activities. This process was formalized in March 1917, when Frank A. Sayles set up Sayles Finishing Plants as an unincorporated trust that owned and operated the various finishing subdivisions.
Repository:
Rhode Island Historical Society
Collection call no:
MSS 6 Sg 2
Formal title:
Sayles Bleacheries records
Extent:
48 linear feet
Date range:
1847-1906
Abstract:
The Sayles Bleacheries were the foundation for all the subsequent manufacturing activities of the Sayles family. The profits from this highly successful operation fueled the acquisition of the scores of companies whose records now make up the Sayles Collection. Thus the Sayles Bleacheries were in every sense the “parent” organization of the Sayles empire. The Sayles Bleacheries originated when William F. Sayles, in December 1847, bought at auction the plant of the Pimbly Print Works, lying along the Moshassuck River in the town of Lincoln, Rhode Island.
Repository:
Rhode Island Historical Society
Collection call no:
MSS 6 SG 1
Formal title:
Lonsdale Company Records
Extent:
45 linear feet
Date range:
1831-1946
Abstract:
The Lonsdale Water Power Company, an unchartered corporation founded by the firm of Brown & Ives with Edward Carrington and others, was organized in 1825. The company proceeded to buy up estates and water rights along the Blackstone River in the towns of Smithfield and Cumberland, Rhode Island. In 1831, the company began construction of a mill - later called Lonsdale Mill No. 1- and organized around that mill the village they named Lonsdale in Smithfield. Included in this collection are: administrative records, 1834-1924; general accounts, 1831-1944; production records, 1836-1916; correspondence, 1832-1921; miscellany, 1910-45. Especially important are the minute of company meetings, 1834-1906.
Repository:
Rhode Island Historical Society
Collection call no:
MSS 9 SG 2
Formal title:
Glenlyon Dye Works
Extent:
25.5 linear feet
Date range:
1883-1950 (bulk 1883-1938)
Abstract:
The Glenlyon Dye Works began as a minor department relegated to operating wherever space could be found or made within the confines of Sayles Bleacheries Plant A at Saylesville. This department began as early as 1876, for the purposes of bleaching and dyeing wool yarn and piece goods. It was not formalized until 1882 when it turned entirely to processing goods for the new Lorraine Manufacturing Company, and the volume of work increased considerably. Later, as Glenlyon Print Works, the plant specialized in printing and finishing fine cotton and silk blend fabrics.
Repository:
Rhode Island Historical Society
Collection call no:
MSS 6 sg 13
Formal title:
Providence Female Charitable Society Records
Extent:
1.5 linear feet
Date range:
1799-1952
Abstract:
The idea for the formation of a charitable society to help "indigent women and children" was first proposed by a group of well-known Providence women in March of 1800. The Providence Female Charitable Society was formed April 2nd the same year. This collection contains correspondence and other records related to the organization.
Repository:
Rhode Island Historical Society
Collection call no:
MSS 642
Formal title:
French River Textile Company records
Extent:
15 linear feet
Date range:
1897-1928
Abstract:
The French River Textile Company was incorporated first in Rhode Island in 1897 by Frank A. Sayles, Alfred M. Coats, John Simson, and James B. Kirkaldy. Although the mill itself was located in Mechanicville, the business seat was in the Slater Trust Company in Pawtucket, Rhode Island. The records reflect manufacturing costs, sales, and finances of a Rhode Island and Connecticut firm manufacturing worsted cloth, silk cloth, cotton cloth, remnants and waste. The mill also sold water-generated electric power to the Putnam Light & Power Company, serving communities in northeast Connecticut.
Repository:
Rhode Island Historical Society
Collection call no:
MSS 6 SG 12
Formal title:
Obadiah Moses Brown Papers
Extent:
0.75 linear feet
Date range:
1782-1823
Abstract:
Obadiah M. Brown was born on July 15, 1771,* the only son of Moses (1738-1836) and Anna (Brown) Brown (1744-1773) of Providence. In adulthood he added Moses as a middle name and used the signature Obadiah M. Brown to distinguish himself from his cousin Obadiah Brown, son of Joseph Brown.
Repository:
Rhode Island Historical Society
Collection call no:
MSS 941
Formal title:
The Records of James Browne
Extent:
0.25 linear feet
Date range:
1742-1743
Abstract:
James Browne, born in 1724 to James (1698-1739) and Hope (Power) Browne (1702-1792) of Providence, took up the family business of trading to the Caribbean. This collection consists of two cyphering and navigation books, dated 1743. The first, dated from January to February 1742/3, is a primer of Geometry and Trigonometry, which also contains lessons in Plain Sailing and Mercators Sailing. The second volume, dating from February 1742/3 to April 1743, is lessons in Mercator’s Sailing, Latitude, and Traverse Sailing, and ends with the day to day journal of his voyage to the island of Barbados in 1742/3.
Repository:
Rhode Island Historical Society
Collection call no:
MSS 948
Formal title:
The Papers of James Browne (1666-1732)
Extent:
2 item(s)
Date range:
1729-1731
Abstract:
James Browne (1666-1732) was born in Providence in 1666, the son of John and Mary (Holmes) Browne, and grandson of Chad Browne, the original settler of the Brown family, who came to Rhode Island in 1638 from England. He ended his name with an "e", a practice that was discontinued by his descendants.
Repository:
Rhode Island Historical Society
Collection call no:
MSS 947

Pagination

Options

For Participating Institutions