The Davisville Mill(s) Records are the records of one or more textile mills that existed in Davisville, North Kingstown, Rhode Island in the nineteenth century. It is unclear from the records themselves if the volumes and papers all belong to one mill or to a group of mills. Some of the volumes have names inscribed on the front, spine, or inside pages. These include: Ezra and J. Davis, E. and J. Davis, Davis Reynolds, J. D. and S. and Davis and Sweet. The E. and J. Davis textile firm was founded in the early nineteenth century. It became the Davis, Reynolds and Co. in 1849. It appears that the Davisville Mill(s) Records are from these mill companies.
Account books and receipts compiled by various members of the Easton family of Newport, Rhode Island, including James C. Easton (1803-1861), William H. Easton (1834-1910) and George W. T. Tilley (1838-1898) of William H. Easton & Co.
The Fayerweather family, descendants of slaves, served the village of Kingston and the surrounding countryside as blacksmiths throughout the nineteenth century. Most famous in the family is Sarah Ann Harris Fayerweather whose attendance at Prudence Crandall's school for girls caused tension over school intergration in Connecticut. The records contain papers and memorabilia from several generations of the Fayerweather family.
The French River Textile Company was incorporated first in Rhode Island in 1897 by Frank A. Sayles, Alfred M. Coats, John Simson, and James B. Kirkaldy. Although the mill itself was located in Mechanicville, the business seat was in the Slater Trust Company in Pawtucket, Rhode Island. The records reflect manufacturing costs, sales, and finances of a Rhode Island and Connecticut firm manufacturing worsted cloth, silk cloth, cotton cloth, remnants and waste. The mill also sold water-generated electric power to the Putnam Light & Power Company, serving communities in northeast Connecticut.
The Glenlyon Dye Works began as a minor department relegated to operating wherever space could be found or made within the confines of Sayles Bleacheries Plant A at Saylesville. This department began as early as 1876, for the purposes of bleaching and dyeing wool yarn and piece goods. It was not formalized until 1882 when it turned entirely to processing goods for the new Lorraine Manufacturing Company, and the volume of work increased considerably. Later, as Glenlyon Print Works, the plant specialized in printing and finishing fine cotton and silk blend fabrics.
The Granite Industry collection is comprised of business records of the George Ledward & Company and the New England Granite Works, two Westerly, R.I. granite companies. In addition the collection contains records from the Quarry Workers’ International Union.