Correspondence, memoranda, lists, contracts,
inventories, military and naval orders, and plans regarding the early administration
and curriculum of the Naval War College, new building construction, and items
relating to the establishment of a naval coaling station in Narraganset Bay. Also
included are journals and letterpress copybooks kept by past NWC presidents Charles
Stockton and French Chadwick.
Naval War College (U.S.). Naval Historical Collection
Account books and receipts compiled by various members of the Easton family of Newport, Rhode Island, including James C. Easton (1803-1861), William H. Easton (1834-1910) and George W. T. Tilley (1838-1898) of William H. Easton & Co.
Maude Howe Elliott was an American author and wife of English artist John Elliott (1859-1925). Elliott was the daughter of Julia Ward Howe (abolitionist, suffragist, author of "Battle Hymn of the Republic") and Dr. Samuel Gridley Howe (founder of Perkins Institute for the Blind and activist in the struggle for Greek independence). In 1917 Elliott and her sister, Laura E. Richards, were awarded the Pulitzer Prize for the biography of their mother,
The Elmer Ephraim Ellsworth Papers, covering the period 1854-1861, consist of correspondence, a journal fragment, drafts of his writings, and sketches concerning Ellsworth's involvement with the Illinois Militia, the United States Zouave Cadets, and the New York Fire Zouaves, along with memorabilia about Ellsworth and his military career that was produced some time after his death.
6 Hollinger Boxes; 4 Other Media Boxes; 3 Oversized Boxes
The Elms Collection is comprised of materials relating to the Berwind Family and their property, from 1807 until 1990. It includes images of the interior and exterior of the home from various points in its existence, as well as images showing various generations of the family. Also included is correspondence and printed materials related to both the running of the estate, and the sale of its contents in 1962.
Emmanuel Church is an historic Episcopal church located on 42 Dearborn Street in Newport, Rhode Island. Established as a mission in 1841 to address the spiritual needs of the working class. It was admitted to the Rhode Island Episcopal Diocese as Emmanuel Free Church in 1852 and continues as an active parish.
University of Rhode Island Library, Special Collections and University Archives
The Records of the Episcopal Church Women of Rhode Island consist of materials from 1875-1987, documenting its administrative, and financial activities throughout the twentieth century life of the organization. The collection, which is divided into four series, consists of correspondence, organization publications, copies of the organization's articles of incorporation, constitution and by-laws, photographs, lists of officers, surveys and questionnaires, annual reports, meeting minutes, and financial documents.
The Fales family letters number thirty six, most of them
sent by Stephen (who often signed himself "Esteban") Smith Fales from his Cuban
plantation to his sister Lydia (Fales) French in Bristol, Rhode Island. Although the
earliest letter dates from 1806, most of the letters were written between 1813 and
1834 from various locations in Cuba.