This collection consists mainly of letters, receipts, and accounts relating to Abraham Redwood (1709-1788), the founder of the Redwood Library, and his business dealings in Newport, Rhode Island. Also included are documents concerning the Redwood Library, Abraham Redwood’s contemporaries in Newport, and later letters from David King, a former president of the Redwood Library.
The Brown University Registrar's accounts consist of one series. The collection includes Steward accounts from 1826 to 1838; accounts of Lemuel H. Elliott, registrar, from 1858/1859 to 1861/1862 (arranged chronologically); Registrar financial accounts (1844-1864) and reports (1864-1882). The collection also contains "Charitable Account" and account of "Beneficiaries," from 1836 to 1843.
Guide to the Ralph E. Carpenter, Jr., collection of manuscripts
0.42 linear foot (1 document case)
1711-1920 and undated (bulk 1711-1870)
This collection consists mainly of letters, receipts, and accounts from 1711-1920 that were collected by Ralph E. Carpenter, Jr. (1910-2009). The majority of these documents regard various people, places, and events in Newport, Rhode Island, from the colonial period through the early twentieth century.
1.8 linear feet (1 half document case, 1 flat box)
1710-1999 and undated (bulk 1729-1796)
This collection consists of letters, legal documents, accounts, family histories, and other papers related to the Redwood family and its descendants, particularly Abraham Redwood (1709-1788), the founder of the Redwood Library and Athenaeum.
Manuscript copies of 18th and 19th century broadside verse, made by members of the Newton family, chiefly Mrs. Miriam Newton and Miss Nancy Newton, with an occasional original piece; accounts, genealogies, verse and prose; copies of sermons; excerpts from religious books; biographies of famous people; accounts of local weather; newsworthy local events. Compiled mostly in Southboro, Massachusetts, and Marlboro, New Hampshire.
A collection of historical documents from the petition for a charter in 1763 to the change of name from Rhode Island College to Brown University in 1804. Titles of the papers and folder numbers are taken from the two volumes in which the papers had previously been mounted.