The John Nicholas Brown II papers span the lifetime of John Nicholas Brown from his birth in February 1900 to his death in October 1979. While the bulk of the collection dates from the period 1960-1979, there are important materials from nearly every portion of Brown's life. The collection is comprised of manuscripts, ledgers, notebooks, journals, photographs, postcards, pamphlets, film, artifacts, architectural plans, blueprints, and other similar materials.
The Ernst Studio Collection is comprised of photographs taken by Ernst Studio between 1909 and 1967. The materials photographed include portraits of Newport residents and local events of all sorts. Also included are images of various Newport estates and landmarks, as well as sailing vessels and Newport Harbor.
The Hussey Collection plans and drawings consist primarily of bridge drawings and plans created by the State Board of Public Roads' Bridge Department (now RIDOT). The bulk of the collection was created under the supervision of Clarence L. Hussey, Bridge Engineer and State Engineer of Rhode Island from 1912-1925.
The Harold Mason Photograph Collection contains photographs and photographic postcards of domestic architecture and architectural elements of structures, specifically doorways, throughout Rhode Island.
Providence Public Library Special Collections, Rhode Island Collection
The Newport Collection includes prints and negatives of Newport buildings restored and/or renovated by Fall River - Newport architect and preservation architect for the Preservation Society of Newport County, Thomas Marvell. Marvell was the nephew of Miss Alice Brayton of Green Animals.