Albert C. Greene (1791-1863) was born in Coventry, Rhode Island to Perry (b.1749) and Elizabeth (Belcher) Greene (b. 1758). He had one sibling, a brother, William P. Greene (1784-1855). He was educated at the East Greenwich Academy until he was placed as an apprentice, at the age of 13, to George Brinkerhoff, an attorney in New York City. He was admitted to the bar in 1812 and continued his studies at the law school of Judges Reeves & Gould in Litchfield, Connecticut. He returned to Rhode Island in 1813 and set up practice in East Greenwich.
Edward Carrington (1775-1843) was born in New Haven, Connecticut. As a young man, he came to Providence, R.I., where he worked as a clerk and supercargo for local merchants Seth Wheaton, Samuel Butler, and Richard Jackson. He resided in Canton, China from 1802 to 1810, serving as American Consul, acting as an agent for other American merchants, and amassing a considerable fortune by trading on his own behalf. The collection documents his mercantile and shipping activities in China, South America and Europe during 1802-1857. It also documents his other business enterprises in the textile industry in Rhode Island with the Hamlet Mill and Manufacturing Company, 1834-1860 and the Blackstone Canal Company, 1823-1831. The collection also contains the personal papers of Edward Carrington, his son Edward II, and Edward II's wife Candace (Dorr) Carrington.
Charles V. Chapin (1856-1941) served as Superintendent of Health in Providence, RI from 1884-1932 and as City Registrar from 1889-1932. Chapin was well known nationally and internationally for his public health work related to contagious diseases, such as diphtheria, scarlet fever, and typhoid. In 1910, he was instrumental in setting up City Hospital, where people who had contagious diseases could get medical care. This collection contains biographical information, certificates, commissions, correspondence, manuscript material, physician's reports and scrapbooks related to Chapin's work.
Correspondence, financial records and diaries, mostly of merchant John Francis, his wife Abigail (Brown) Francis, their son Gov. John Brown Francis, and his wife Ann B. (Carter) Francis. Among the most important items are John Francis's two 18th century mercantile diaries; Abigail (Brown) Francis's diary/memorandum book from 1792-1815; and eight of John Brown Francis's political letters from his tenure as Governor of Rhode Island.
The French River Textile Company was incorporated first in Rhode Island in 1897 by Frank A. Sayles, Alfred M. Coats, John Simson, and James B. Kirkaldy. Although the mill itself was located in Mechanicville, the business seat was in the Slater Trust Company in Pawtucket, Rhode Island. The records reflect manufacturing costs, sales, and finances of a Rhode Island and Connecticut firm manufacturing worsted cloth, silk cloth, cotton cloth, remnants and waste. The mill also sold water-generated electric power to the Putnam Light & Power Company, serving communities in northeast Connecticut.
The Glenlyon Dye Works began as a minor department relegated to operating wherever space could be found or made within the confines of Sayles Bleacheries Plant A at Saylesville. This department began as early as 1876, for the purposes of bleaching and dyeing wool yarn and piece goods. It was not formalized until 1882 when it turned entirely to processing goods for the new Lorraine Manufacturing Company, and the volume of work increased considerably. Later, as Glenlyon Print Works, the plant specialized in printing and finishing fine cotton and silk blend fabrics.
James Brown II (1698-1739) was born in Providence. His father was Elder James Brown (1666-1716), a pastor on the First Baptist Church; his mother was Mary (Harris) Brown. James II established himself early in the mercantile business, trading in rum, molasses, slaves and less controversial wares.
John Brown (1736-1803) was born in Providence, R.I., the fourth son of merchant James Brown II (1698-1739) and Hope (Power) Brown (1702-1792). He began his working life in partnership with his three brothers (Nicholas, Joseph and Moses) and his uncle as Obadiah Brown & Co., a mercantile firm that traded in rum, slaves, molasses and other goods. The firm was renamed Nicholas Brown & Co. after the death of Obadiah in 1762.
This collection consists of the papers of three generations of the Blaine and MacLellan families, who resided in Newport from 1882 to 1986. Alexander MacLellan (1856-1939) emigrated from Scotland in 1882, and served as a head gardener at several large estates. His daughter Rowena (1886-1965) married jeweler Joseph W. Blaine (1875-1953). Their son Joseph W. Blaine Jr. (1920-1986) was an electrical engineer who retired young to devote himself to the study of history.
The Lonsdale Water Power Company, an unchartered corporation founded by the firm of Brown & Ives with Edward Carrington and others, was organized in 1825. The company proceeded to buy up estates and water rights along the Blackstone River in the towns of Smithfield and Cumberland, Rhode Island. In 1831, the company began construction of a mill - later called Lonsdale Mill No. 1- and organized around that mill the village they named Lonsdale in Smithfield. Included in this collection are: administrative records, 1834-1924; general accounts, 1831-1944; production records, 1836-1916; correspondence, 1832-1921; miscellany, 1910-45. Especially important are the minute of company meetings, 1834-1906.